The Van Wert County Foundation’s Board of Trustees honored two retiring long-time trustees and welcomed two new board members at their Annual Meeting in June.

Mike Cross retired from the Board of Trustees. Mr. Cross was elected to the board in 1998, served as a member of the board for 21 years. “We are grateful for his commitment to The Foundation and to our community. During his time on the board, Mike oversaw various committees, served as President of the Board from 2005-2007, and represented The Foundation on the Wassenberg Art Center Board, shared Seth Baker, VWCF Executive Secretary.

Paul Svabik also retired from the Board of Trustees. Mr. Svabik served as a member of the board for 10 years. “During his time on the board, Paul served as President from 2016-2018, served on various committees, and helped to forge The Foundation we know today”, continued Baker.

Newly-elected trustee, Cindy Hurless, is the Chief Operating Officer of the Central Insurance Companies.  She and her husband Mark have six children and three grandchildren. She is a member of Life House Church and Van Wert Rotary.  She and her husband are involved in a variety of community outreach activities. They enjoy gardening, cooking, sports, and travel.  She also serves on the YWCA Board and NPAC Board.

Tom Burenga, was also elected to the Board. Burenga is the CEO of Kenn-Feld Group LLC, an eight location John Deere dealer with locations in Northwest Ohio and Northeast Indiana. He and his wife, Julie, have two daughters – Jamie, age 16, and Mandy, age 12. In his free time, Tom enjoys growing a garden and canning salsa each summer. He also likes growing hot peppers and creating things from them.  He currently serves as a trustee for First United Methodist Church in Van Wert. 

“We are excited to install Cindy and Tom as trustees.  Both are a great fit to carry out the mission of our organization – Transforming quality of life by fulfilling purposeful endowments, inspiring collective growth, and building initiatives for the future. I look forward to working with them on committees and upcoming projects”, stated Andy Czajkowski, Board President. 

Board of Trustee members for 2019-2020 listed below:

Andy Czajkowski, President

Chuck Koch, Vice President

Gary Clay, Secretary

Tom Burenga

Larry Greve

Cindy Hurless

Bruce Kennedy

Thad Lichtensteiger

Randy Myers

Bill Purmort

Brian Renner

Gary Taylor

Mark White

Eva Yarger

Mike Zedaker